Posted by: homeschoolnewbie | November 10, 2010

Why do I homeschool?

This is a question I have had to really consider over the last few months. As my children are getting older I seem to get more and more heat about my decision to homeschool.

I was on one website where a woman said I owed it to the public school community to put my kids back in public school. Really? I “owe” the community my children? Right.

One lady said that I was a quitter for taking my kids out of the public school system and that it was people like me who were ruining the system. Honestly, this was the funniest and frankly catered to my narcissistic side. My leaving …caused total ruination. **insert evil laugh**

One lady said that my children were, get this, “educational capital”. And because of people yanking out their “educational capital” the kids left behind would suffer. Seriously? If a tree falls in the forest and no one was there to hear it, did it make a sound? Basically, I’m saying….if my child was never there, how can he/she be missed or cause damage?

I now realize the truth. I homeschool to tick other people off. Not really, but what is it about homeschooling that causes other people so much discomfort? So much angst? Why is it that when a parent says I’m teaching my own kids… people get angry? You know what when someone says to me I’m going to solve my own problem; I’m happy for them why wouldn’t that same happy feeling extend to education? I homeschool for a lot of reasons, but one of the big ones was because this is what was best for the educational needs of my children. I don’t think the government gets to make every decision for me. I think I get to make some of my own and if I think I know what’s best for my children well then the government ought to understand that, but what’s more so should everybody else. Yeah. I can dream.

Responses

  1. I laughed out loud too at the comment where the lady called you a “quitter”. I mean, what do mediocre people know about above-average achievers? *returns evil laugh*

    Educational Capital???!! I thought it was bad enough that they called us Resources that happen to be Human!

    Next time someone says that ask for their cellphone. If they say why, just say, “Give it to me.” When they ask, “What’s it to you?” You say, “It’s technological capital to me.” If the lady (or guy) won’t have over their Blackberry ask them why then they hand over their children as “Educational Capital”? Do they care about the private information in their Blackberry or Iphone than their children? Insane, right?

    It’s hard to believe this is happening in America, a country that promotes Freedom, Liberty and…….,and…, the Right To Not be Dumb!

    • You know the saddest part to me is that she is actually willing to allow her kids to be mediocre in a supbar system just to say she’s a part of the system??? Public education is the only business I know that gets this kind of loyalty and sympathy when it FAILS! In fact, the worst it does, the more money it is rewarded? The worst the test scores, the more we have to support it and be understanding? Seriously? I’ve worked in private industry, for alot of years and let me tell you how it goes: You don’t produce; you get penalized. You continue not to produce; you get fired. Period. Want a better school system let’s fire some of these really crappy teachers and act like you care about these kids and their future by showing these teachers you mean business. Give the best teachers bonuses and salary incentives and give the rest the boot. That’s all their is to it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

