homeschooling, Uncategorized

A True Leap of Faith….Making the Transition to Homeschooling!

Such A Small Word.... For Such a BIG Problem
Such A Small Word.... For Such a BIG Problem

For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2 Timothy 1:7 (KJV)

Okay, so I’ve been thinking about all of the reasons I had for not wanting to pull my kids out of “school” five years ago when I first began homeschooling.  I’ll call them “fears”, because really any reason I had, was rooted in a fear. Fears are terrible things… They keep us from being able to truly live life.  They freeze us in place and take away our ability to move forward boldly.

These were some of my fears:

  1. I was not smart enough to teach my children.
  2. My children would not be able to get into college.
  3. I would not be able to afford all of the “stuff” schools have to educate my children.
  4. People would think I was crazy.
  5. We would not be able to live without my second income.
  6. I would be home all day with my children, and they would be come weird some how.
  7. I would do a terrible job.
  8. My kids would hate me for doing this.
  9. My husband  would think I was crazy.
  10. Maybe the “school” was right about my kids, and I should just let them make it/fail on their own. {Except, the teacher had the principle, the superintendent, and the teacher’s aid on her side… all my kid had was me.}

What’s amazing is that over the last five years, with God’s help, I’ve confronted every single one of these fears with Victory.  If you are struggling with fear right now. Don’t let it overpower you. Write up a list of your fears and confront them. Don’t allow fear to rule your life.

Blessings,

HomeschoolNewbie

Leave a Reply

