curriculum, homeschooler, new homeschooler, Uncategorized, virginia, Worry

Transitional Anxiety

We Love To Worry!!
We Love To Worry!!

I’m in Virginia, and today it was an absolutely gorgeous day! My kids and I spent the day enjoying nature and each other. We took a break from homework and curriculum and seized the moment. I remember my first few months homeschooling. Oh, I would have never dared to stray from the many lesson plans I had charted for my kids. I had so much anxiety about making sure they passed the end of the year test; that they were as smart as the public and private school students; and that my relatives didn’t think I was just a slacker. I had to try and get to everything everyday. Oh, perfection is soooo exhausting. Nobody told me that sometimes all your children needed was your time, not your curriculum. I could have saved myself so much anxiety and many anxious moments. Since then my children have miraculously tested well above their grade levels. I cannot take the credit. I delight myself in the Lord, and he has given me the desires of my heart. More than anything, I have learned that anxiety and anxiousness are sure signs of my weak faith and have no bearing on God’s awesome ability to answer prayer even when I am less than deserving. Are you having a bit of transitional anxiety today? I challenge you to cast your cares to God and start enjoying your children and your family.

Blessings always,

Homeschool Newbie

Leave a Reply

