curriculum, education, hampton roads, home education, homeschool testing, homeschooling

Homeschooling a Highschooler…Uggh!

I am beginning to plan my homeschool year for the fall for my rising 10th grader. I have to admit that homeschooling a high schooler is a challenge. Not just the amount of class work that must be covered, but the daily burdens of just training her up for life. I find new things every day that I have to cover or at least mention.

This year, I am definitely going to finally purchase a transcript software. I am looking at these:
Diploma Creator
Transcript Pro I think the co-creator of this software is having a Transcript bootcamp at the HEAV Conference this year.
BlackBaud I like this one because I teach coop classes and this will keep my home and school classes organized
Homeschool Minder
Homeschool Tracker

Our curriculum so far:
Bible – Community Bible Study (CBS)

English composition – Clep – 6 credits

Algebra 1 – “Saxon Algebra 1 Kit and DIVE CD 3rd Edition“>Saxon Homeschool Kit with Dive/Saxon Teacher

Biology – “Exploring Creation with Biology SET with Textbook, Solutions/Tests and Companion CD“>Apologia Biology via Homeschool Coop

Latin II – “Wheelock’s Latin (Wheelock’s Latin)“>Wheelock Latin Text via Tutor

American Government – Clep Prep lesson plan

Music – Piano/drums/guitar via tutors and dad

PE – Tennis/Swim/Field Hockey – via Homeschool Coop

Rhetoric/Debate – “Skills For Rhetoric: Encouraging Thoughtful Christians To Be World Changers (Broadman & Holman Literature)“>Classical Rhetoric via Homeschool Coop

Finance Education – “Money Matters Workbook for Teens (ages 15-18)“>Teen Money Management by Larry Burkett
or Dave Ramsey Homeschool Finance Education Kit

Are you already planning for next year?

Leave a Reply

