curriculum, education, hampton roads, home education, homeschool testing, homeschool transition, homeschooler, homeschooling

Homeschool with a Theme!

The longer I homeschool, the more awesome people I meet and the better the ideas get.

I was talking to my good friend, Ang, a longtime homeschool veteren, and she was telling me that some years she chooses all of her curriculum based on a theme. This year’s theme was to improve “thinking skills” so she ordered most of her curriculum from Critical Thinking Press. I thought this was the most awesome idea ever!

Not only are all of her children learning the same basic principles together, but she kept the cost of homeschooling down by focusing on one major area she wanted her entire family to focus on. All supplemental materials and family activities have been based on this theme; how this must have made shopping so much easier. How mentally freeing it must have been; to pass up things that tend to just add to the curriculum clutter, because she could shop with her theme in mind!

Now, if only I could narrow down all of my ideas down to just one theme…..

2 thoughts on “Homeschool with a Theme!”

  1. “I was talking to my good friend, Ang, a longtime homeschool veteren, and she was telling me that some years she chooses all of her curriculum based on a theme.”

    You are right, this is an interesting idea, and it would be hard to pick only one theme.

  2. What’s also pretty neat is that she homeschools a wide range of ages and still manages to keep her focus. Her children’s ages range from 3yrs to 13 yrs old!

Leave a Reply

