homeschooling

Preping your Homeschool Teen for Higher Education

You may be tempted as a homeschool mom to ignore the academic world beyond your front door, however if you have a homeschool teen please don’t give in to this temptation!

My homeschool teen and I just arrived back from a lovely trip to Boston to allow her to take some rigorous classes at MIT(Massachusettes Institute of Technology). While I pride myself on providing a challenging academic program at home, it was lovely to see my hard work validated and for her to gain experience in a highly diverse academic environment.

This experience required that she find her way on a fairly large college campus and be mentally engaged in several academic topics covered in several classes during the week. On our arrival, my daughter may have felt slightly overwhelmed and little short on confidence that she could do it, however to her surprise she found her way, learned something new, and met new friends. She is now more confident than ever that she is ready for college and life beyond.

I encourageyou, as a homeschool parent, to make every attempt to find micro-expriences such as these to give your student a boost of confidence for their academic future!

2 thoughts on “Preping your Homeschool Teen for Higher Education”

  1. Excellent strategy! I wish my Dad and I had done that because I did feel a bit out of sorts when I first rolled into college without a clue about what the heck a class or a test was. Imagine your first test you had ever take in your life was in a College Physics exam!

  2. OMG, that is scary. My daughter is currently in 10th grade and she has completed either summer programs or weekend programs at about 5 different colleges. She’s matured quite a bit at her very approach to education and classes. That has been the BIG plus. The minus is that now she’s really ready to go college, and I’m not ready to LET go! C’est la vie!

Leave a Reply

